Offer a Gluten-Free Communion

by Church Health Reader Editors

Traditional communion is off-limits for Christians with Celiac disease, gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity. In order to offer communion to all, consider a gluten-free option so that food allergies or intolerances are not an obstacle to the sacrament of communion.

Important things to remember:

Publicize

Print a note in your bulletin, post flyers on the church bulletin boards, or have the pastor mention this option before communion is served. This practice makes an incredible difference in welcoming visitors and to members who live with gluten intolerance.

Beware cross contamination

Gluten-free bread and wafers can never be served on the same plate as regular communion. In fact, the gluten-free offering should be prepared with separate utensils, cut with a separate knife and served by a separate person. Consider using a different colored plate to avoid confusion.

Find an option that works for your church

There are several ways to serve a gluten-free communion. Try baking your own gluten-free bread, purchasing gluten-free bread or serving gluten-free wafers. These wafers have the added bonus of being yeast-free, soy-free, dairy-free, egg-free, and nut-free, eliminating the other five most common allergens.

Tagged under:

Share on: